Table of Contents
How to Add a User to Google Search Console
Adding a user to Google Search Console is a straightforward process. Please note that you must have at least ‘Full’ permission within the Search Console property you’re managing to add a user. Here are the steps to add a user to Google Search Console:
Log in to Google Search Console
Go to Google Search Console and log in with your Google account.
Select a Property
Once logged in, you will see a list of properties (websites) you have access to. Choose the property to which you want to add a user.
On the left-hand side of the screen, scroll down to find the ‘Settings’ option. Click on it.
Click on Users and Permissions
Under settings, you will find an option labeled ‘Users and permissions’. Click on it to view the list of users who have access to the property.
On the ‘Users and permissions’ page, you’ll see a blue button in the top-right corner labeled ‘Add User’. Click on this button.
Enter Email and Select Permission Level
A dialog box will appear where you need to enter the Google email address of the user you want to add. Also, you have to select the permission level for the new user. The options are:
Full: Can view all data and perform most configuration tasks, such as adding new users.
Restricted: Can view most data but cannot perform any configuration tasks like adding new users.
After entering the email address and selecting the appropriate permission level, click on the ‘Add’ button. The user will receive an email notifying them that they have been granted access to the property in Google Search Console.
Confirm the Addition
The new user should log in to their Google account and check Google Search Console. They should now have access to the property you added them to.
Please remember that by granting someone access to your Google Search Console property, they will be able to view sensitive data regarding your website’s search performance and make changes to the configuration depending on the permission level. Always ensure you trust the users you are granting access to.
What is Google Search Console?
Google Search Console is a free web service provided by Google that helps website owners, webmasters, and SEO professionals monitor and maintain their site’s presence in Google Search results. It provides tools to submit sitemaps, view crawling and indexing status, see search traffic, and more.
Why would I need to add a user to Google Search Console?
You might need to add a user to Google Search Console if you want to grant access to your website’s data and tools to other team members, SEO experts, web developers, or content managers. This allows them to analyze the site’s performance in search results and make necessary improvements.
What permissions are available when adding a user to Google Search Console?
There are two permission levels: ‘Full’ and ‘Restricted’. A Full user can view all data and perform most configuration tasks such as adding new users. A Restricted user can view most data but cannot perform configuration tasks.
Can I add someone with a non-Gmail email address to Google Search Console?
Yes, you can add users with non-Gmail addresses, but they must have a Google Account associated with that email address. Google Accounts can be created with any email address.
Can I change the permission level of a user after they have been added?
Yes, you can change the permission level of a user after they have been added by going to the ‘Users and permissions’ section under ‘Settings’ and clicking on the user you want to edit. From there, you can change their permission level.
Can a user with Restricted access add or remove other users?
No, a user with Restricted access can only view data and cannot perform configuration tasks like adding or removing users. Only users with Full access have the ability to add or remove other users.
Is there a limit to how many users I can add to Google Search Console?
Google has not specified a limit to the number of users you can add to a single Google Search Console property. However, it’s a good practice to only add users that need access, for security and management reasons.
How do I remove a user from Google Search Console?
To remove a user, go to ‘Settings’, then click on ‘Users and permissions’. Find the user you want to remove, click the three-dot menu next to their name, and select ‘Remove access’. Confirm the action if prompted.
Will the user I add get a notification?
Yes, when you add a user to Google Search Console, they will receive an email notification informing them that they have been granted access to the property.
Can I temporarily grant access to a user and set an expiry date?
Google Search Console does not have a feature to set an expiry date for user access. If you need to grant temporary access, you would have to manually remove the user when their access is no longer needed.
Published on: 2023-06-08
Updated on: 2023-06-08